Archive for July 13th, 2010

13
Jul
10

may the force be with shoe

I know I said in my last post I was going to be talking about my plans for Artscape, and I will.  But I just got word that my customer received her order and I’ve GOTTA get these pictures up…

Every so often, a job comes along that feels like it finishes itself.  the planets align, the clouds part, and the angels of freelance smile a brilliant ray of lucky sunshine upon me.  The Star Wars themed shoes Denessa ordered for her son Clay were once such job.

Star Wars!  Hell yeah!

As ubiquitous as Star Wars was (is) while growing up (being alive), for all the times i watched the movies and all the comics i read, i don’t think i ever added any of the characters to my repertoire of doodles.  I really can’t think of a single Star Wars related project I’ve ever done, actually.   Maybe that’s why I blazed through these, any excuse to get down and nerdy.

I asked Denessa to get Clay’s favorite characters.  Among those he listed were Chewbacca…

…Yoda…

…Vader…

…and Luke…

I opted to arrange the characters by their respective trilogies; one shoe for the old movies, one for the new ones.

R2D2 is apparently one of Clay’s ultimate favorites.  The rounded stitching along the heel of his Converse’s were perfect for setting for the little droid…

… stuck, as ever, in the middle of a battle.

And finally, a little self-promotion…


… and a little something extra.

AND HEY YOU GUYSALL STAR WARS RELATED ANYTHING, ANYWHERE, IS BECAUSE OF GEORGE LUCAS AND IS COPYRIGHT OR TRADEMARK OR WHATEVER IT IS BY HIM FOREVER, ALRIGHT?

(PLEASE DON’T SUE ME, MR. LUCAS.)

Okay I promise that the NEXT post will be about Artscape, and it will definitely go up before the event actually happens.  I’m pretty sure everyone I know here in Baltimore is already aware of this since I can’t shut up about it, but here’s a hint for anyone who reads my nonsense elsewhere…

(it rhymes with ‘fart car’)